Ethan Johns


British producer Ethan Johns began his career under the tutelage of his father, hall of fame producer Glyn Johns. Since the 90’s, Johns has worked as a producer, engineer, mixer, and occasionally touring musician for a number of artists including Ray LaMontagne (three records), Kings of Leon (three records), Joe Cocker, Tom Jones, Emmylou Harris and more recently, Laura Marling (three records). He is known for authenticity and rawness in both his live work and his recording style, preferring analog over digital methods.

In 2012 Johns’s work won him the BRIT Award for Best British Producer. In the same year, encouraged by a number of artists, Johns stepped out from behind the console and released his solo album, If Not Now Then When? The album features collaborations with a number of familiar faces including Ryan Adams and Laura Marling.

In 2014, Johns produced three songs on Paul McCartney's New album. He also produced and arranged the musical number that launched BBC Music, "God Only Knows" featuring artists such as Stevie Wonder, Pharrell Williams, Jake Bugg, Elton John and many more. In addition, he finished a follow up to his solo debut record titled The Reckoning which was produced by Ryan Adams. 2015 projects included producing and mixing Tom Jones' Long Lost Suitcase (S-Curve Records) and a forthcoming album for folk duo Trevor Moss & Hannah-Lou. In 2016, Johns received an ARIA nomination for Best Rock Album for his production and mixing on Boy & Bear Limit of Love (Nettwerk).

In 2017, the single "Silver Liner" from his third solo album was nominated for an AMAUK Award for "UK Song of the Year". Johns recently produced and mixed multiple songs on the new White Denim album Stiff (Downtown); produced and co-mixed the forthcoming I’m With Her album; produced the most recent album from Seth Lakeman ft. Wildwood Kin Ballads of the Broken Few (Cooking Vinyl), as well as The Strypes' Spitting Image (Virgin/EMI) and Nick Mulvey's Wake Up Now (Fiction/Universal).

Contact for booking


Selected Discography

Nick Mulvey Wake Up Now (Fiction/Universal) Co-P
The Strypes Spitting Image (Virgin EMI) P, M
Seth Lakeman ft. Wildwood Kin Ballads of the Broken Few (Cooking Vinyl) P, co-M
Allison Pierce Year of The Rabbit (Sony Masterworks) P, E, Mu, Arr
White Denim Stiff (Downtown) P, M
I'm With Her Forthcoming Album (TBD) P
Boy & Bear Limit of Love (Nettwerk) P, M
Tom Jones Long Lost Suitcaise (Virgin) P, M, Mu
Paul McCartney New (MPL/Concord) P, Mu
Laura Marling Once I Was An Eagle (EMI) P, E, M, Mu
Tom Jones Spirit In The Room (Island UK) P, M
The Staves Dead & Born & Grown (Warner) co-P, co-M
The Boxer Rebellion The Cold Still (Absentee) P, E, M
Kaiser Chiefs Future Is Medieval (Fiction/B-Unique) P, E, M
Tom Jones Praise And Blame (Island UK) P, E, M
Paolo Nutini Sunny Side Up (Atlantic UK) P, E, M
Kings of Leon Because of the Times (RCA) co-P, E, co-M
Ray LaMontagne Gossip In The Grain (RCA) P, E, M, Mu
Ray LaMontagne Trouble (RCA) P, E, M
Kings of Leon A-Ha Shake Heartbreak (RCA) co-P, E, co-M
Ryan Adams Gold (Lost Highway) P, E, M, Mu
Ryan Adams Heartbreaker (Bloodshot) P, E, M, Mu
P- Producer E- Engineer M- Mixer co-W- co-Writer